Updated Tuesday, February 5, 2019   |

The Gayle Clarke Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Gayle Clarke by the Jane Jefferson Democratic Club, the Montrose Democratic Party and the family of Gayle Clarke.

Gayle was known for her exceptional character, integrity, hard work and an ardent belief in giving back to the community by volunteering. She was a lifelong Democrat and was instrumental to the Democratic Party and the Jane Jeffersons. She had a passion for knowledge and education and had a strong belief in the standards of the democratic process. She was a leader, organizer, mediator, mentor and friend to all.

The annual scholarship was established to reward and encourage one graduating senior in Montrose County each year who has demonstrated both democratic ideals and active involvement in their community and school. The scholarship will be awarded to the deserving student who puts forth strong effort scholastically, gives back to their community through community service and shows leadership and dedication through involvement in extracurricular activities.

This is a $2,000 non-renewable scholarship. Entry deadline is April 5, 2019 by 5:00 pm or postmarked by April 5, 2019. Scholarship award decision will be made by April 19, 2019.

Scholarship (click to apply)

Scholarship Criteria

  • Graduating senior of Montrose County in the year of the application
  • Cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher
  • Must be planning to attend a post-secondary institution in the fall of the year the scholarship
    is awarded. This includes college, university, junior college, community college, technical institute,
    or vocational-technical school
  • Must show community and extracurricular involvement